No glam, just fun at Golden Screen Awards

Rate this item
(0 votes)

By Allan Policarpio
Philippine Daily Inquirer
April 30, 2013 | 9:09 pm

DIRECTOR Adolfo Alix Jr. and best actress drama winner Gina Alajar
Organized by the Entertainment Press Society, the 10th Golden Screen Awards for Movies held last Saturday at Teatrino in Greenhills, San Juan City, was devoid of spectacle or that

overwhelming glamour and star power one would usually expect in an awards night.

The stars came in trickles, and not everyone was dressed to the nines. Instead of eye-catching designer gowns, most of the ladies opted for simpler and more comfortable dresses. The program itself was fairly straightforward, save for a few song numbers here and there.
But what the event lacked in glitz, it more than made up for with a strong sense of togetherness among artists, the press and other people working in the business. The venue—small and
intimate—allowed everyone to mingle freely in what turned out to be a casual, fun-filled night.

DEKADA AWARDEES (from left): Ara Mina, Cherry Pie Picache, Iza Calzado, Judy Ann Santos and Maricel Soriano
It wasn’t unusual to see stars hopping from one seat to another to catch up with their fellow celebs. One moment, they were seen sitting beside Ara Mina, the next minute with Coco Martin. Eddie Garcia was seen sitting where Jun Lana used to sit. Near the stage, eager fans were asking, almost begging, anyone to snap a photo of them with “Juan de la Cruz.”
All of a sudden, Coco burst into a fit of laughter as his manager Biboy Arboleda scrambled toward the stage to accept the best supporting actress (drama, musical, comedy) award on behalf of Anita Linda (Sta. Niña).
“Oh, I love this night,” Alfred Vargas (“Supremo”) muttered to himself as he stood up from his seat to accept his best actor award (drama) together with Eddie (“Bwakaw”), whom he tied with. After dedicating his win to his wife and cancer-stricken mother, Alfred helped Eddie up onstage.
Meanwhile, as Gina Alajar cautiously climbed the steps to get her best actress (drama) trophy for “Mater Dolorosa,” a booming “That’s my tita!” echoed across the venue. It was Sid Lucero, looking mighty pumped up… as always.

SEF CADAYONA, breakthrough actor for “Gayak”
Because Aga Muhlach (“Of All the Things”) was busy with his political campaign in Camarines Sur, it was leading lady Regine Velasquez who accepted his best actor (musical, comedy) trophy. Drawing hearty laughs, Regine said: “Actually, I was ready to receive this award for my husband!” Ogie was nominated in the same category for “I Do Bidoo Bidoo.”
The “Songbird” would later find herself back onstage—this time as the winner. And as she gave her best actress (musical, comedy) trophy a good look, Regine quipped, laughing: “Biruin mo ‘yun nagka-acting award ako?”
The night’s host John “Sweet” Lapus kept the mood light, and had the crowd in stitches with his silly antics and over-the-top costume changes. Cherry Pie Picache also had everyone rolling in laughter, although unintentionally, when the actress mispronounced “tiktik” in “Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles” while presenting an award.

LINO Brocka honoree Lily Monteverde
Big winner
The night’s big winner was Jun Lana’s indie drama-comedy “Bwakaw,” which won best picture (drama); best cinematography for Carlos Mendoza; best story, best original screenplay and best director for Lana; and best actor for Garcia.
“It’s a wonderful feeling. The movie has been recognized and has reaped awards abroad, but it always feels better when you win in your own country. I want my primary audience to be Filipinos,” Lana told the Inquirer.
“I’ve won awards for writing, but this is my fist time to win best director. This is a special moment,” he added.

EDDIE Garcia, best actor, drama, for “Bwakaw”
In celebration of the award-giving body’s 10th year, the Dekada Award was bestowed on actors and production outfits which have won at least two Golden Screen trophies in the past decade.
Named Dekada Awardees were Ara Mina, Cherry Pie
Picache, Eugene Domingo, Judy Ann Santos, Iza Calzado, Zsa Zsa Padilla Maricel Soriano, Aga Muhlach, Dennis Trillo, Coco Martin, Tirso Cruz III, Alfred Vargas, Sid Lucero, Eddie Garcia, Jeffrey Jeturian, APT Entertainment, Quantum Films and Star Cinema.
In her speech, Juday perfectly summed up the awardees’ collective sentiment: “Ang lakas naman maka-tanda nito!”
The other winners:

REGINE Velasquez, best actress, musical-comedy, “Of All the Things”
Best breakthrough performance by an actor: Sef Cadayona, “Gayak”
Best breakthrough performance by an actress: Tippy Dos Santos, “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”
Best visual / special effects: Dave Yu, “Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles”
Best musical score: Vincent de Jesus, “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”
Best sound design: Antonieto Carlos, “Supremo”
Best original song: “Saan Ako Tutungo,” “Migrante”
Best production design: Erin John Martir and Adrian Torres, “Supremo”
Best editing: Randy Gabriel, “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”
Best screenplay adaptation: Jerry Gracio, “Intoy Syokoy ng Kalye Marino”

JUN LANA, best director, “Bwakaw”
Best supporting actor (drama, musical, comedy): Kristoffer Martin, “Oros”
Best picture (musical, comedy): “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”
Lino Brocka Lifetime Achievement Award: Mother Lily Monteverde
Photos by Rodel Rotoni

Read 2678 times


Book YourTickets Now!

Write to us at mail or phone.
You can also contact us through the site.


Copyright © 2018 Pinoy Tiketek.